AFHL Provincial Champions to be named this weekend

Sunday afternoon will see two provincial champions crowned in the Alberta Female Hockey League (AFHL).

The U18 AAA and U15 AA champions will emerge from tournament action in the Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships presented by ATB, March 23-26.

Five teams are in Red Deer at the Servus Arena for U15 AA – Calgary Fire Red, Edmonton Pandas, Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs, Rocky Mountain Raiders and St. Albert Chargers. The Raiders and Pandas hit the ice in the opening game at 11:30 am on Thursday, with the championship game set for 11:45 am on Sunday, March 26.

Schedule > | Provincial Information >

Hockey Edmonton is hosting the U18 AAA championship at the Bill Hunter Arena. Calgary Fire, Edmonton Jr. Oilers, Red Deer Sutter Fund Chiefs and the St. Albert Bauer Slash begin play on Friday, March 24. The tournament opens at 9 am with the Chiefs taking on the Slash.

The Alberta champion will advance to Pacific Regional Championship where they will compete against the champions from British Columbia in hopes of qualifying for the Esso Cup.

Schedule >| Provincial Information >

AFHL games are available to stream on HockeyTV.

U18 AA action is slated for March 30-April 2 in Leduc.

This year, Hockey Alberta is offering 2023 Provincial Championship merchandise. There are a number of items to choose from and “Champions 2023” can be added to any merchandise purchased after a provincials tournament. Any questions regarding merchandise can be directed to

Shop Here >